Latest News

Support Us

If you would like to support us for our 2014 MovingMedia Festival please send your donations to:

Department of Communication

Attn: MovingMedia

Wayne State University

585 Manoogian Hall

906 West Warren

Detroit, MI 48202.

The 2014 MovingMedia Student Film Festival is just around th corner! We are looking forward to seeing everyone's work, mingle with people at the Tech Fair and award the best movies in several categories. Come join us!

2014 MovingMedia Winners

Best in Show

Sunday Dinner with the Morgans

Director Alex Forbes

First Place-Narrative

A Silent Waltz

Director Isaac Elliott

Second Place-Narrative

I’ve Been a Sweeper

Directed by Ciarán Dooley

Third Place-Narrative

Death of a Legend

Directed by Poj Pitakjamnong

First Place-Animation

Sweet Revenge

Directed by Jonathan Kline

Second Place-Animation


Directed by Mitra Shahidi

Third Place-Animation

Mirage Maker

Directed by Benjamin Reicher

First Place-HIgh School

The Waiting Game

Directed by Maria Alvarez

Second Place-HIgh School

Godong’s Party

Directed by Seona Khil

Third Place-HIgh School


Directed by Miles Warren

Thank You!

Dear Supporters,

The committee and I would like to express our sincere gratitude for supporting us during the 2012 MovingMedia Student Film Festival.

As you know, our mission is to build the film arts in our region, and allow our

students to showcase their work. We are proud to now offer a local, national

and international student film festival, which helps to build cinematic arts in the


This year’s event was a big success. We received about a 135 submissions from

all over the world, showcased over 70 films and offered 16 workshops during our


Your generosity allowed us to have a big success.

We want to thank our keynotes:

Director, Sam Kadi,

DIA Film Curator & DFT Founder, Elliot Wilhelm,

Michigan Film Office Director, Carrie E. Jones,

and Director & Michigan Creative Film Alliance Member, Anna Fleury,

We want to thank all the presenters who made our TechFair a big success:

Film Festival Specialist, Robert Butler

Michigan Production Alliance Director, Mark Adler

Detroit Pockets of Cool Co-founder, Joan Abraham

Actor, Christopher Bondy

Special effects makeup artist, Daniel Phillips

Detroit Public Television

Screenwriter, Wayne McLean

Score Composer, Dan Belleville

Producer, Charles Cirgenski

Director & Producer, Gary Cendrowski

Director, David Marek

Environmental 3D Specialist, Brenda Schick

Hair Specialist, Norman Wagner,

Wardrobe Specialist, Raymond Rolak,

We also want to thank all our judges:

Shaher Batroukh

Chris Campbell

Nathan Chavez

Kelly Donnellan

Roger Donnellan

Meghan Hammiler

Sarah Himes

Aaron Henderson

Lara Hrycaj

Lois Lipman

Karen McDevitt

Nicholas Schlegel

Margaret Thomas

Ellen Tripler

Aditi V. Desai

Celeste Ward

Willow Williamson

Tom Hopkins

Natasha Marin

Chris Rosik

We also want to thank all our sponsors for their amazing donations and sponsorship:

The Michigan Film Office

The Friends of Detroit Film Theater

DAFT - Digital Arts Film and Television

Ethnic Bakery and Deli


Barnes and Nobels


Redrock Micro




Kona Grill

Tim Hortons

Better Made

Susan G. Komen - Race for the Cure Detroit

Rolco Sports Network

We also want to give a special Thank you to:

Wayne State University - College of Fine, Performing and Communication Arts

Wayne State University - Dean of Students Office

Wayne State University - Special Events and Services

Lastly, we want to thank all the filmmakers who submitted their films. It was honor to showcase your work and we hope that you will consider us again next year.

Please forward my appreciation to your family and friends who also spent the festival with us.

Thank you for being supporter of MovingMedia Student Film Festival and we hope

to see you again next year!

The 2012 MovingMedia Committee

Kelly Gottesman

Kelly Donnellan

Angela Moreira

Megg Jacobs